Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine, Uruguay win UN Security Council seats

UNITED NATIONS - Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Uruguay and Ukraine were elected to the United Nations Security Council on Thursday, pitting Kiev against veto-power Russia in what Ukraine's foreign minister promised would not be a conciliatory two-year term.
The 193-member General Assembly elected Egypt with 179 votes in favor, Japan with 184, Senegal with 187, Ukraine with 177 and Uruguay with 185. All five were unopposed. They replace Chad, Chile, Jordan, Lithuania and Nigeria on the council on Jan. 1.
The council is made up of 10 elected members - five voted on each year - and five permanent veto-powers who are the United States, Britain, France, China and Russia. The council is the only UN body that can make legally-binding decisions.
Ukraine's Foreign Minister Pavlo Klimkin earlier this week described Kiev's approach to Russia as "definitely not conciliatory ... the permanent member of the Security Council is an aggressor in Ukraine, waging a hybrid war against Ukraine."
Russia annexed Ukraine's Crimea in March last year, which was followed by fighting between Russia-backed separatist rebels and Ukrainian government troops in eastern Ukraine. A truce has largely held in eastern Ukraine for the past month.
A deadlocked UN Security Council has had more than 30 meetings on Ukraine since the seizure of Crimea. Russia's UN Ambassador Vitaly Churkin declined to comment on how Moscow would interact with Ukraine on the council.