Qatar becomes first Arab state to enforce Libya no-fly zone

March 25, 2011 21:33


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Qatar on Friday became the first Arab country to begin patrolling a UN-backed no-fly zone aimed at preventing Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi's forces from attacking civilians, the coalition task force said in a statement.

A Qatari Mirage 2000-5 jet joined a similar French air force plane to patrol a sector of Libyan air space, the statement said.Qatar has deployed six Mirage 2000-5 warplanes and two C-17A transport aircraft to Europe to support the no-fly zone and deliver humanitarian assistance to Libyan civilians.

The United Arab Emirates announced on Thursday it would join the coalition, but it has not yet begun flying missions, the statement said.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Breaking news
January 17, 2019
Michael Cohen says Trump told him to manipulate opinion polls in his favor