UNESCO votes to add Israel's Carmel caves to Heritage List

June 29, 2012 17:22

The UNESCO World Heritage Committee on Friday added a series of adjacent caves in the Mount Carmel region to the World Heritage List this for their fossilization of human evolution.

The four Mount Carmel caves clustered along the southern side of the Nahal Me’arot/Wadi El-Mughara Valley – Tabu, Jamal, El-Wad and Skhul – as well as their terraces, received nominations based on three criteria in two separate categories, “natural” and “cultural.” The sites are “located in one of the best preserved fossilized reefs of the Mediterranean region” and contain cultural deposits filled with 500,000 years of human evolution, from the Lower Paleolithic era to the present day, said a summary document that the World Heritage Committee printed in May.

Related Content

Breaking news
August 23, 2019
Florida man gets 15 months for threatening to kill Bernie Sanders


Cookie Settings