Israeli academy welcomes 9 new scientists

Israel Academy of the Sciences and Humanities votes in 9 new professors, pushing total membership to 105 people.

Nine senior scientists will be inducted into the Israel Academy of the Sciences and Humanities in Jerusalem on Tuesday. They were voted in by the general assembly of the academy following recommendations of members of the academy from its two branches – natural sciences and the humanities and social sciences.
There will thus be 105 life members in the academy.
Although the president of the academy, Prof. Ruth Arnon, is a woman, none of the nine is female. The academy, the supreme body of Israeli science, brings together the best in the various fields and is aimed at promoting and advancing scientific activity in the country. It also advises the government on research and other relevant issues..
The new members are Prof. Shlomo Avineri, Prof. Amnon Aharony, Prof. Emanuel Tov, Prof. Elon Lindenstrauss, Prof. Amihai Mazar, Prof. David Milstein, Prof. Nadav Na’aman, Prof. Ben-Ami Shillony and Prof. Shlomo Shamai.
The Polish-born Avineri is an emeritus professor of political science at the Hebrew University and conducted much research on the political thought and philosophy of Marx and Hegel.
Rather than remaining in an ivory tower, he served as director-general of the Foreign Ministry during the first Rabin government.
Aharony, who was born in Israel, is an emeritus physics professor at Tel Aviv University and still teaches at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev. He is one of the world’s leaders in statistical physics and received numerous prizes, including the Rothschild and Landau prizes in Israel and others in Germany and Norway.
Tov, born in Amsterdam, is an emeritus professor of Bible Studies at the Hebrew University who contributed much to the research on the Greek Septuagint. He was also one of the editors of the Hebrew University Bible Project and editor-in-chief of the international Dead Sea Scrolls Publication Project.
Lindenstrauss, a native of Jerusalem, is a mathematics professor at the Hebrew University and a winner of the 2010 Fields Medal. Since 2004, he has also been a professor at Princeton University. Lindenstrauss works in the area of dynamics, particularly in the area of ergodic theory and its applications in number theory.
Mazar, he has been professor at the Institute of Archaeology at the Hebrew University since 1994. He has directed archeological excavations at a number of sites in Israel including Timna, Beit She’an and Tel Rehov.
Milstein is an chemist best known for his research on metal-mediated activation and functionalization of very strong chemical bonds. He was brought by his parents to Israel in 1949 from Germany and, as a professor of organic chemistry at the Weizmann Institute of Science, authored over 220 publications in peer-reviewed journals. He has won the Israel Prize, among many other awards.
Na’aman, who was born in Kibbutz Kiryat Anavim in 1939, is a professor emeritus of Jewish history at Tel Aviv University whose special interests include the ancient Near East, the Bible and archeology. He wrote six books and edited seven more and has published more than 280 articles in journals.
Shillony was born in Poland in 1937 and spent the war years as a child in the then-Soviet Union. He moved to Israel in 1948 and settled with his parents on Kibbutz Tel Yitzhak. A graduate of the Hebrew University, he is an expert in Japanese history and culture at the Hebrew University. Shillony won the Japan Foundation Award, among other prizes, and has even been granted an audience with the emperor and empress.
Shamai is a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering at the Technion- Israel Institute of Technology, and his research areas cover a wide spectrum of topics in information theory and statistical communications.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy