Olympics: Toumarkin, Nevo qualify for next Swimming rounds

August 1, 2012 14:16
1 minute read.


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Israelis Yakov Toumarkin and Gal Nevo each qualified for the next rounds in their respective swimming categories on Wednesday.

Toumarkin came in 8th in the Olympic men's swimming 200m backstroke heats with a time of 1:57.33, while Nevo came in 12th in the men's swimming 200m individual medley heats at 1:59.56.

Full results for each are:

Men's swimming 200m backstroke - Qualified for Next Round
 1.   Tyler Clary (U.S.)            1 minute 56.24 seconds
 2.   Ryan Lochte (U.S.)            1:56.36               
 3.   Zhang Fenglin (China)         1:56.71               
 4.   Ryosuke Irie (Japan)          1:56.81               
 5.   Gabor Balog (Hungary)         1:56.98               
 6.   Jan-Philip Glania (Germany)   1:57.01               
 7.   Nick Driebergen (Netherlands) 1:57.29               
 8.   Yakov-Yan Toumarkin (Israel)  1:57.33               
 9.   Peter Bernek (Hungary)        1:57.52               
 10.  Mitch Larkin (Australia)      1:57.53               
 11.  Tobias Oriwol (Canada)        1:58.06               
 12.  Yannick Lebherz (Germany)     1:58.07               
 13.  Kazuki Watanabe (Japan)       1:58.17               
 14.  Radoslaw Kawecki (Poland)     1:58.18               
 15.  Omar Pinzon (Colombia)        1:58.20               
 16.  Leonardo De Deus (Brazil)     1:58.22

Men's swimming 200m individual medley  -  Qualified for Next Round:

1.   Laszlo Cseh (Hungary)           1 minute 57.20 seconds
2.   Ryan Lochte (U.S.)              1:58.03               
3.   Kosuke Hagino (Japan)           1:58.22               
4.   Michael Phelps (U.S.)           1:58.24               
5.   Thiago Pereira (Brazil)         1:58.31               
6.   James Goddard (Britain)         1:58.56               
7.   Markus Deibler (Germany)        1:58.61               
8.   Markus Rogan (Austria)          1:58.66               
9.   Ken Takakuwa (Japan)            1:58.82               
10.  Henrique Rodrigues (Brazil)     1:59.37               
11.  Chad Le Clos (South Africa)     1:59.45               
12.  Gal Nevo (Israel)               1:59.56               
13.  Daniel Tranter (Australia)      1:59.70               
14.  Vytautas Janusaitis (Lithuania) 1:59.84               
15.  Joe Roebuck (Britain)           2:00.04               
16.  Andrew Ford (Canada)            2:00.28

Related Content

Breaking news
August 18, 2018
Anti-money laundering law facing difficulties in Iran