BREAKING NEWS

4 people killed in US military plane crash in Arctic Norway

A US military aircraft with four people onboard has crashed in northern Norway, the country's Joint Rescue Coordination Centres (JRCC) told Reuters on Friday. All four were pronounced dead on Saturday morning by local police.

The V-22 Osprey aircraft was taking part in a NATO military exercise called Cold Response when it was reported missing at 1826 CET (1726 GMT), the JRCC said.

The plane was on a training exercise and was due to land at 1800 CET (1700 GMT). There was bad weather in the area, with conditions worsening.

"We have made a find from the air," a JRCC spokesperson told Reuters. "We found it after an emergency signal was received."

The fate of the people onboard the aircraft was not known, he added.

Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy